Salmon Cakes!

I once worked with a bunch of people who were all about these things called “Salmon Patties.” They ate them on bread, like a hamburger. Well, I like burgers and I like salmon so I should like a salmon patty. I went out and bought a can of salmon…because that is what you make these salmon patties out of.

I get home. I open the can, and OMFG it’s like they took the fish cut off a can sized hunk and stuffed it in there, bones and all. But that’s okay, because I’ve filleted a fish before…albeit ages ago when I was very little and with my dad when he used to perch fish, but the fact still stands I have gutted fish before! A can of fish, I should be able to handle.

I stood over my sink, up to my fore arms covered with fish water and weird slimy fish scales as I tried to remove the scales and back bone from the meat. Each bone I pulled out I gagged, and then gagged a bit more until I almost vomited. I am not the kind of person that is going to gag from preparing raw food, something about this fish in a can was just too much for me to handle.

I walked out to Husband who was working in the garage, he looked at me and knew right away we were not having salmon patties for dinner by the way I looked. I announced we would be ordering pizza and he needed to go pick it up. I gave up.

A few days later I was relating my story to my salmon patty eating co-workers where they looked at me and said “What? Did you think it was going to be like a can of tuna?”

Uh…yeah, I kinda did.

And then I found the salmon of all caned salmon…Costco canned salmon. It seems at the one we shop at they no longer carry the Kirkland brand canned salmon, which makes me sad. That stuff was like tuna fish, hardly any water, nice thick chunks of salmon. And the best part their cans of salmon are missing the bones and scales. It’s not a chunk of meat paste but real formed sections of meat, in a can. Glorious.

So, with the discovery of fantastic canned salmon from Costco I give you Salmon Cakes! Much better than salmon patties and no to be consumed on a bun but with a spicy mayonnaise caper sauce.

2 7 oz cans salmon – it should look like a tuna can
1 egg – lightly beaten
1/2 cup soft bread crumbs
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
1/2 red pepper, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon dill
1 teaspoon Frank’s Red Hot (or hot sauce of your choice), a few shakes will do.
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Lemon-caper Mayonnaise
*This recipe comes from Cooking in Style The Costco Way and is by far the best mayonnaise sauce I have ever had for salmon or crab cakes.
6 table spoons mayonnaise
2 teaspoons capers
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon peel
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1. Make the mayonnaise sauce by combining all ingredients, cover and refrigerate.

2. Create the salmon cakes by mixing all ingredients together in a large bowl.

3. Heat two table spoons oil (I prefer olive) in a pan. Form the salmon mixture into patties and place in oil. Cook until just browned on both sides.

Serve with mayonnaise and lemon wedges.

A few notes:
I find the the mayonnaise mixture is much better if prepared the day before, however the hot pepper flakes will add quite a bit of heat to the mayonnaise if left to sit. If you have a sensitive spice pallet and choose to make the mayonnaise a head of time add the pepper flakes when starting to cook the salmon.

Husband doesn’t eat the mayonnaise instead sprinkling each patty with a bit of fresh lemon.

I’ll typically have a side of green beans, salad and a box of long grain and wild rice.

Leave a Reply

