Happy Fall?

That’s what we in the mid-west like to call Autumn. 

I was trying to quickly put away groceries when Husband randomly blurts out “Yay! Happy Fall.” 

Uh. Happy fall? 

“Tomorrow is the start of fall.”

Now, I’m thinking huh, I thought the Autumnal Equinox was always around the 20s in the month. Must just be an odd year but didn’t really think anything more of it. Husband continued to look at his phone and talk about the weather.  But since Crazy Child was yelling about who the hell knows what… fruit flies, falling off the chair and the fact that I was home, I only heard bits and pieces which mostly consisted of “uggg it’s 86 tomorrow” ….. “42….night.” 

It wasn’t until way later that I realized it was not the Autumnal Equinox and the first day of Autumn but he was reading this weather app on his phone and we are technically in “Meteorological Fall” where we should be enjoying falling temperatures, hot spiced apple cider, and cosy sweaters. However, we’re experiencing a bit of a heat wave. Not like that is all too uncommon. When we were married we had an abnormally warm fall, including 80 degree temps well in to late October. I remember it distinctly because it was the year we were married and I was bathing the dogs about a week prior to the wedding which would have been late October. It was even comfortable to stand outside for a fair amount of time the end of the first week of November.

The warm fall turned out to be quite the blessing for us and our wedding photos, since we did most of them outside. The trees were still full of leaves with just the right amount of color. I had a co-worker that laughed at my wedding decor because it focused on leaves and earthy colors. My co-worker said I needed to focus on sticks because that’s all that would be left by the time I was married. Ha! Mother nature showed him. I did make sure to point that out to him every occasion I had the opportunity. Sadly not as many opportunities as I would have liked. 

So, Happy Fall! As in cooler temperers and the changing of the seasons fall. Not the moment where the day night are of equal lengths there is still about a week before that happens. 

Leave a Reply

