Salsa-not-so-riffic

I was given a large amount of Roma tomatoes. It sounded like the giver of the tomatoes wanted me to make salsa with them, which I can only assume means that they are expecting some prepared salsa in return for the tomatoes. A fair trade.

One major problem with this.

My salsa takes awful.

Unless you want your eyes to burn from the vinegar and your teeth to hurt from the sweetness. Then it might be delicious.

The first batch, it was so vinegar-y tasting, and HOT. I’m not sure if the heat came from the jalapeño’s or the vinegar. I think it was the vinegar, it was so…well burn-y, like I tried to drink some cider vinegar. Yuck. The second round looked better. It still was a bit strong on the vinegar smell even though I tried to cut the vinegar, and was using a different recipe. The second round turned out even worse. It was vinegar-y AND super sweet. I think the little bit of sugar that the recipe called for could have been totally omitted and it still would have been sickly sweet. It was definitely not a flavor mix that I found appetizing in the least.

We’ll use the canned jars, but instead of being able to eat them on chips or tacos it will have to be in dishes that are cooked to help mellow out the taste. Thankfully I have a ton of recipes that utilize jars of salsa for slow-cooker cooking which will help mellow out those overly in-your-face flavors.

If anyone has a great salsa recipe I would love to try it! I hope to find one that works with just the right balance of flavors. I’m going to be trying the Ball canning salsa mix and recipe on the mix in the hopes that it’s a good one. I figured with years of expertise they should have been able to perfect the perfect salsa combination of acid and bases, sweetness and heat.

But I am open to trying just about any salsa recipe, as long as it doesn’t have corn in it.

Leave a Reply

