Grandma, Hospital

This comes to me through my mom, which is coming through my aunt, from voice mails and short phone conversations which means whatever I am about to relate there is a 100% chance that I’ll have to correct all of everything I am about to put down.

A few months ago my grandma started complaining that she was having extreme hip pain. It happened to be the same hip that she has had two hip replacements done. That’s right, TWO. She had the first one done years ago and it wore out. When she had it done umpteen years ago people didn’t live that long, a 20 year fake hip would typically out last most people. Not Grandma she out lived a 20 year and a 10 year hip replacement. When she had the second hip replacement on the same hip they told her that at best it would only last about 10 years, well the 10 years is up.

Now, like I said my grandma has a flare for the dramatic so most everyone was chalking up her pain partial to it going bad and partial to her dramatic side. She did once go in for surgery, I don’t even remember what. They asked her if she had any pain, to which she responded no, then they asked her to rate her pain on a 1-10 scale – like they do in hospitals even if you say you have no pain – she told them her pain was at eleven. Yes, eleven.

“Are you feeling any pain?”

“No.”

“On a scale of 1 – 10 what is your pain?”

“Eleven.”

Uh. What?

When I heard this story I just started laughing because the only thing I could think of when hearing this story was the bit in This is Spinal Tap, where they are talking about their amps going up to eleven.

A flare for the dramatic, or she just likes the really good pain drugs you get in the hospital.

Wooohoo, morphine?

Yesterday, Grams calls my mom to tell her that she can’t handle the pain and she is going to the hospital. I find this out when we go over to have dinner with my mom, which she informs me by saying “Grandma is going to Hospital in the North.”

Okay… the I get the basic run down that her neighbor was taking her to the hospital. That was the what I heard until today at about 5 pm when I decided to check my phone that was sitting on the charger all day.

My phone had about five text messages from my mom and a voice mail from my Aunt.

The voice mail from my aunt is my aunt trying to get a hold of my mom, in the voice mail my aunt tells me that she left several messages for my mom and even tried her at home. My grandma’s doctor is also trying to get a hold of my mom.

It’s Monday. My mom is at work. She also happens to be a surgery nurse. As I’m listing to this message I say to Husband. “I bet anything all these messages were on her cell phone.”

They were. I called my mom she said when she got out of work she had five messages on her cell phone and two more on her home phone. As a random aside I have always found this particularly perplexing as to why people call my mom and leave messages on her cell phone or home phone when they know she’s at work and know her career. It’s not exactly a career where she can just drop everything to check her phone or even take calls at work. There have been more times than I can count that something similar has happened, one of the most ridiculous times was when my brothers school was trying to get a hold of her and instead got me (at the house) acting all frantic that they couldn’t get a hold of her.

The X-rays from the Hospital in the North were sent to G-ma’s doctor. Doctor reviewed as per requested by Aunt, but G-ma didn’t sign a release for Aunt (yay HIPPA), and that’s why the doctor office had to get a hold of my mom. Eventually doctor office talked to my Aunt and got things rolling. Doctor said that her pain is not caused from the hip replacement and everything looked normal. They also said that since Grams was on her way to the ER that they would send over the information to let them know it wasn’t a fake hip issue and to schedule up some tests.

Aunt was with my Grandma. According to my mom as my Aunt with with Grandma, Grandma was saying that she was in excruciating pain, then her leg was numb, then it was at eleven pain, and back and forth, until my aunt made grandma decide if her leg was in pain or having no feeling.

Eventually Grandma was admitted to the hospital for the night, where they will most likely call in a bunch of tests to see what is causing the problem. Aunt thinks its an infection as she told my mom that her knee – a knee she once had a horrible infection in – is looking a bit red and is hot, or it could be sciatic nerve pain, or it could be both.

My bets are going to be on sciatic nerve pain because I have/had that. It was awful during the last pregnancy and I really did alternate between my leg going numb and collapsing out from under me randomly to awful pain that went down my entire leg.

But like I said at the beginning of this post I am sure that sometime in the next few days I’m going to get an update and everything I just wrote will be wrong.

Leave a Reply

