The good, the bad and the cheap.

I hate spending money on food. In truth I just hate spending money. Well, no I don’t hate spending money, actually I love it, because I like to buy stuff, but alas I have debt. What I truly hate, being in debt. So, really I hate spending money on anything that is not a loan payment. We’re down to one loan (besides mortgage) but it’s a doozy of a payment each month, I’ve been sick of paying on it for the past three years, what is even more madding for me about this loan not only the size of it but the fact that by the time it’s gone we will have paid double the principle. All for a student loan, and this is why it is important to teach children about compounding interest and how it effects real life situations. 

In reality there is no way possible to knock out this loan in this or even next year but brining that payoff date closer is still a great goal to have even if it is still a few years out. So, then how am I going to wring water from a stone (so to speak), with beans and cutting cable! I was finally successful in getting Husband to cede to cutting our cable TV. I’ve been trying to ditch it for years. I don’t watch TV and the shows I do watch even with a DVR I still end up watching on the computer, for me personally I see very little value in cable TV. Husband on the other hand watches it. If he’s not actually watching it the TV it’s still on anyway (personally this drives me nuts but I have to have a fan on at just about any given time). 

We got a Wii U from Christmas from my mom, which is making cutting the cable possible because now we have a device that we can stream to easily. We had an Xbox but I’ve never been a fan of Xbox live, especially if the only thing I’m going to use it for is Netflex. As soon as my antenna gets delivered cable TV is getting the boot. We’ll still be keeping the internet, obviously, because I need that to work. 

Next is the beans…how can you save money with beans. Easy, they are cheep, filling and full of everything one needs to survive. I decreed that we were going to start eating more bean meals. This fulfills two goals, one spend less on food, two eat less meat. Yes, I decreed it. Sometimes with Husband I have given up asking for his input, if he doesn’t like the idea then it just it never happens, hence the decrees. I tried years ago to get us to eat more meatless meals, just one a week, he was not about it… like he NEEDED to have meat at every meal, amusing since he doesn’t really like meat to begin with. I made the decree at least one meatless meal a week. Now it’s just common place and he’ll asks for various meatless meals that don’t even fall in the category of our one meatless meal a week. 

Speaking of decreeing we had to have the house financial talk last night. In a fit of semi-frustration in discussing our yearly budget I said “I should just give you an allowance and that’s all you get,” He responds with “That would be easier, can we just do that,” and goes back to playing with the cat. I said no, I was not shouldering all the responsibility of the house budget even if he was the one that went to work. 

But back to beans…

I only have a few bean recipes that I like the go-to recipe has always been Falafel Pitas with Cucumber-Yogurt Dressing, but that and bean enchiladas can only go so far, off to the internets. Good ‘ol Pinterest helped me out with that. In the past week we have tried two new bean recipes one was a terrible disaster that ended with me dumping in large amounts of chicken bullion and cumin. It was a Cuban black bean and rice recipe. I like black beans, I like Cuban food and I like rice and beans should be a winner right! Wrong. Even when I was making it I was looking at the recipe and thinking this is missing a bunch of traditional spices for Cuban-esq food. It tasted like bean water. I started throwing in spices galore and chicken bullion. Eventually making it not so bad. Topped with avocado, cheese, tomato and cilantro it wasn’t bad. I will be looking for a better recipe. Really want I want is a rip off of Zatarain’s Black Beans and Rice that I can make in crock pot. 

However, the second recipe was a hit! Smooth Garbanzo Bean Soup, I doubled the recipe and used a touch of chicken bullion. I would have used vegetable bullion but my house is currently lacking in vegetable bullion. My immersion blender is an attachment to my hand mixer and it’s a sad excuse that it even dares call itself an immersion blender, I had to blend it up in the kids food puree system. My blender leaks so I won’t use it – why I haven’t thrown it out yet is beyond me. Margaritas, I guess. Image

My soup turned out much more orange than the photos of the original. I also let it cook too long before pureeing, so it was extra thick. 

The response to the soup was positive. Husband liked it, said it tasted yummy and was very filling, but a bit too thick. Baby ate a whole bowl and Little Miss played in it and ate the croutons I topped the soup with (typical). Eventually the soup bowl ended up upside down on top to the baby and whatever was left dripping down into their hair. Typical dinner at our house. 

This recipe will be on the short list for go-to bean meals in the future. 

 

Leave a Reply

